Calendar

The School Year

Telhi Co-op generally observes the same school holiday and vacation schedule as the San Francisco Unified School District. (http:// portal.sfusd.edu ) The only major difference is that the Co-op starts one week after the SFUSD. There is generally a two-week break in the winter and a one-week break in the spring. A calendar and holiday schedule is distributed at the beginning of our school year.

2018-2019 Calendar

Monday, August 20 @ 8:45am – First Day of School

Monday, September 3 – Labor Day (No school)
Tuesday, September 18 @ 6:00pm – Monthly Member Meeting

Monday, October 8 – Indigenous People Day (No school)
Tuesday, October 16 @ 7:30pm – Monthly Member Meeting
Saturday, October 20 @ 10:00am-3:00pm – Maintenance Day
Tuesday, October 23 @ 6:00pm – Open House                                                                                  Friday, October 26 – Pumpkin Patch Visit (Half Moon Bay)
Wednesday, October 31 @ 12:00pm – Halloween parade & haunted house

Monday, November 5 thru Friday, November 16 – Parent-Teacher Conferences
Monday, November 12 – Veteran’s Day (No school)
Tuesday, November 13 @ 7:30pm – Monthly Member Meeting
Friday, November 16 @ 11:30am – Stone Soup Celebration
Monday, November 19 thru Friday, November 23 – Thanksgiving (No school)

Tuesday, December 18 @ 7:30pm – Monthly Member Meeting
Monday, December 24 thru Friday, January 4 – Winter Break (No school)

Monday, January 15 @ 7:30pm – Monthly Member Meeting
Monday, January 21 – Martin Luther King, Jr Day (No school)

Tuesday, February 5 -Lunar New Year (No school)
Monday, February 18 – Presidents’ Day (No school)
Tuesday, February 12 @ 7:30pm – Monthly Member Meeting

Monday, March 4 thru Friday, March 15 – Parent-Teacher Conferences
Tuesday, March 19 @ 7:30pm – Monthly Member Meeting
Monday, March 25 thru Friday, March 29 – Spring Break (No school)

Tuesday, April 16 @ 7:30pm – Monthly Member Meeting (Elections)
Friday, April 19 – Beerfest Set-up
Saturday, April 20 – 35th Annual SF International Beer Festival

Tuesday, May 21 @ 7:30pm – Monthly Member Meeting
Monday, May 27 – Memorial Day (No school)                                                                              Wednesday, May 29 – Graduation

Tuesday, June 4 – Last Day of School
Wednesday, June 5-8 – Maintenance Days

*3-4 Parent Education Nights will be added during the school year. Exact dates/times TBD.

Special Events

The children have many opportunities to celebrate together throughout the year. Please remember that not every event listed will happen each year or might vary slightly from year to year. During a party, the children typically sit together at a long table and eat family style.

Birthdays – On your child’s birthday, you may bring a special treat for morning snack or lunchtime. If you bring a treat, you should return to school to help prepare it for snack or lunchtime.

Halloween – Children dress up in costumes and have a Halloween party/haunted house at school.

Thanksgiving – We give thanks by preparing a large pot of Stone Soup. We encourage families to bring in a vegetable to add to our soup. Children cut and prepare our soup and we enjoy it together for lunch.

Holiday Party – Before winter break, parents donate toys/gifts and the children go “shopping” for gifts for the different members of their family. There is usually a party at school for the children.

Chinese New Year Party – We learn about new year customs and join in our local neighborhood celebrations.

Valentine’s Day – Children have a party and bring and distribute valentines to their classmates (optional).

Easter – We often hold a non-religious Easter party and children might enjoy decorating cookies or hunting for eggs.

Cultural Days – Parents are also invited to share celebrations or traditions from their culture of origin (or a culture that they have a special connection with) throughout the year.

Graduation/Last Day of School – The parents of the graduating/ departing children put on a party for the school.